food · vegan

Lazy Vegetarian meal ideas #7 Vegan Pesto Pasta

WP_20150713_21_16_44_Pro

There is cheese in the picture, but the recipe itself is totally vegan.

This is the first time I have ever made pesto, and I will admit that half way through cooking it I was getting a little worried. It just looked like a strange green lump with some pine nuts on the edges and I didn’t have particularly high hopes at first, but I was really happy with how it turned out. I can’t normally eat the pestos you see in supermarkets as they have egg Lysozyme and I avoid eggs as much as I can, and its been annoying because I love pesto but wrongly assumed it was really hard to make. This is seriously one of the easiest  meals to cook and it ended up being really cheap (although pine nuts can be weirdly over priced) and it only takes about ten minutes to make! If you want to make pesto but are scared  by the specific instructions and fancy pictures, look no further.
Note: I don’t actually have a blender, so that’s why the pine nuts aren’t crushed and it looks a little different, but the toasted pine nuts tasted really good in the pasta so I don’t have any complaints 😛

Tip: Try cooking the pasta in some vegetable stock, it has so much more flavour (again I picked this up from my uni friend, that guy was an awesome cook).

What you need: Basil paste (mine was £0.50), Pine nuts, olive oil, a sprinkle of rosemary and thyme, some chilli flakes (optional), crushed garlic (I actually used fresh garlic for once), salt, pepper, vegetable stock, pasta.

WP_20150713_21_07_51_Pro

1: Fry the pine nuts on a medium heat  in olive oil until they start turning brown

2: Add vegetable stock and some salt to a medium sized pan and add the pasta (I use shop bought cubes but I am sure you can make it quite easily) and cook as per pack instructions

WP_20150713_20_59_44_Pro

3: Turn pine nuts to a low heat, add some more oil and add the basil paste, stir and then add the crushed garlic, herbs, salt and pepper. Depending on how thick it gets add some more oil and stir occasionally whilst the pasta cooks

4: Once the pasta is done stir in the pesto, adding some more olive oil/butter if you wish. I would have normally added sun-dried tomatoes and olives, but unfortunately I totally forgot to buy them 😛

5: Enjoy 🙂

WP_20150713_21_21_26_Pro

Leave a Reply

