Uncategorized

Lazy Vegetarian meal ideas #6 Easy Vegan Stir Fry

WP_20150710_21_35_16_Pro

I love stir fries, and they are really easy to make! I didn’t have that many vegetables today, normally I’d add mushrooms and chilli’s as well (try it, its good) and I added some peas in pods which I’ve never done before. I wasn’t sure if it would work or even if you could stir fry them, but I was really pleasantly surprised and they tasted really nice, although  soy beans  are better. I also added some pumpkin seeds, and although sunflower seeds or cashews might work better they do add a nice crunchiness and compliment the vegetables quite well, but I’ll leave it up to you if you want to add them or not. I also use ready to wok noodles and they always taste really good, but this would also work with instant noodles and buying cooking noodles works out cheaper, I’m just lazy 😛

Note: Whilst I was at uni and was just learning to cook, I had a friend who taught me how to make onions tasty and we used to make stir fries together, so credit for this meal idea goes to my mate George, the man who stopped me hating onions.

What you need: Two peppers (I used green and yellow),one and a half large white onions, cabbage, broccoli, green peas, ready to wok noodles, crushed chili’s, vegetarian stir fry sauce (optional), dark and light soya source, olive oil, pumpkin seeds (optional), a seasoned wok.

WP_20150710_21_02_07_ProWP_20150710_21_07_10_Pro

1: Add the oil and thinly chop the onions. Stir fry until they turn brown and delicious (should take about 3-6 minutes)

2: Transfer onions to a low heat and leave them to slow cook whilst you prepare the other ingredients, chop the peppers to taste and very finely chop the broccoli leaves and cabbage.

WP_20150710_21_20_27_ProWP_20150710_21_26_13_Pro

3: When the onions are sufficiently brown, add the rest of the vegetables and stir fry on a high heat for around 2-4 minutes (it can be better to do it for a bit longer so the peppers have time to become soft and sweet.Add some vegetarian stir fry sauce (optional, but it tastes really good), dark and light soya source (enough so it turns the vegetables brown, but don’t drown them in it) and pumpkin seeds. Remember you have to keep stirring the vegetables and add some more olive oil

WP_20150710_21_24_48_Pro

4:Add the noodles and stir for another 2-3 minutes

5: Serve and enjoy 🙂

WP_20150710_21_33_33_Pro

Leave a Reply

