Uncategorized

Lazy Vegetarian Meal Ideas #4 Easy pepper pasta

I will admit that not all the ingredients were made by myself. The vegetables, preparation and inventiveness was all mine, but I had it with some shop bought red pesto. Why red pesto? Because for some horrendous reason it seems that every single pesto in every shop I go in has eggs in it, except for this one red pesto. I’ve had a long day at the zoo (I volunteer there) and so couldn’t be bothered to make the pesto myself (although I have seen some awesome looking home made pestos on this site and am excited to try and make some soon). You could have this without pesto if you used some more oil, either is fine.

WP_20150628_21_04_56_Pro

Can be eaten hot or cold (I’m taking the extras for lunch tomorrow)

What you need: Two/three large peppers (I used red and yellow, but green is good too), olive oil, water, pasta, green olives, sun dried tomatoes, pine nuts, pesto (optional)

Spices: Basil, thyme, chilli powder, pepper, salt, oregano and a bit of rosemary (I also used cumin seeds, but that’s optional)

WP_20150628_21_12_00_Pro

Instructions: Chop the peppers finely ( I like mine in small square type shapes) and fry in some olive oil and salt, after a minute or two of frying add the spices and stir

Boil water and add pasta (see packet pasta instructions, cook on a medium heat etc). I used brown penne and some fusilli but it would work with most types of pasta

Turn peppers to a low heat after about 4-5 minutes and stir occasionally

Cut olives in half and sun-dried tomatoes to taste

After the pasta is finished (should be around ten minutes) drain and add to pot with peppers in, stir together with  olives, sun-dried tomatoes, a drizzle of olive oil, a bit of basil, thyme and pepper and the pesto (optional) until all the ingredients have merged satisfactorily.

Add cheese (optional) and enjoy

WP_20150628_21_37_03_Pro

Leave a Reply

